Sargeist ‎– Unbound CD

Sargeist require no introduction. For nearly 20 years now, the band - led by erstwhile Horna guitarist / songwriter Shatraug, who's arguably the most prolific metal musician of that same period - have been at the forefront of the ever-fertile Finnish black metal scene. In fact, alongside Horna, one could say that Sargeist are the most influential band of that scene, which has gone on to influence countless other worldwide scenes in this millennium.

And while each Sargeist full-length has been a stunning snapshot of the band's headspace during that point in time, so, too, does the long-awaited Unbound provide a poignant portrait - one of a nearly reinvented lineup, but one just as vital. Gone is the "classic" Sargeist lineup that included longstanding co-conspirators Torog and Horns (vocals and drums, respectively). Now, a rhythm section - bassist Abysmal and drummer Gruft - who together possess a wealth of experience in the Finnish metal underground; erstwhile Nightbringer and Adaestuo guitarist VJS, whose activities also span other bands and continents; and vocalist Profundus, who's been an incredibly prolific drummer the last couple decades, and who's lately most renown as the vocalist for Desolate Shrine.

Despite this seemingly significant change, the Sargeist aesthetic remains resolute and unyielding - indeed, they are more Unbound than ever. Grimy yet spectral, icily melodic but burning with a desperation beyond compare, songwriting that cuts to the heart of the purest black metal but reverentially receives it blood: the Sargeist of Unbound are a band renewed and revitalized, prepared to keep the throne they've occupied these many years through a subtle yet studied refinement.

01. Psychosis Incarnate 04:08
02. To Wander the Night's Eternal Path 04:14
03. The Bosom of Wisdom and Madness 05:12
04. Death's Empath 03:17
05. Hunting Eyes 06:09
06. Her Mouth is an Open Grave 05:47
07. Unbound 05:27
08. Blessing of the Fire-Bearer 05:01
09. Wake of the Compassionate 04:28
10. Grail of the Pilgrim 03:31


12,99 EUR

19 % VAT incl. excl. Shipping costs

Sargeist ‎– Unbound CD